According to Al Jazeera, Guyana has become the seventh South American nation to recognize Palestinian independence. It follows in the footsteps of Ecuador, Bolivia, Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, and Chile.In a statement released by the country’s Foreign Ministry, Guyana’s said it hoped ‘that the increasing recognition of the state of Palestine will contribute to a resolution of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the creation of lasting peace and stability in the region.’

The decision to recognize a Palestinian state, the statement added, was ‘in keeping with Guyana’s long-standing and unwavering solidarity with, and commitment to, the just and legitimate aspirations of the people of Palestine for the exercise of their right to self-determination and to achieve a homeland of their own, independent, free, prosperous and at peace.’

Last week, Chilean President Sebastian Pinera announced that he officially recognizes an independent Palestinian state. A resolution calling on Pinera to recognize Palestine as an independent state was passed by the Chilean Senate two days earlier.

It was also announced that President Pinera will visit the West Bank in three months. A Palestinian embassy will be opened in Ecuador, which already declared its recognition of a Palestinian state.

Uruguay also announced that they planned to join Argentina, Brazil and Bolivia in recognizing a Palestinian state.

Earlier this month, Brazil, Venezuela and Argentina recognized Palestine as an independent state within its borders prior to 1967. The United States criticized this move as counterproductive.

At a time when peace talks with Israel are at a standstill, Palestinians have been seeking international recognition of a state.